Monday, March 4, 2013

Spanish Boots of Spanish Leather

Bob Dylan
Feb. 22 1999
RPI Fieldhouse
Troy NY  

An excellent Dylan show, featuring an all star band. Dylan had been a rejuvenated live performer throughout the 90's, and finally found his way back to cultural relevance with the release of Time out of Mind in 1997. Dylan rode that wave until its peak around 2002, so this concert finds Dylan in fine form on his way up.

 Download all tracks at once here or individually here.

1. Gotta Serve Somebody
2. Million Miles
3. Maggie’s Farm
4. Tears of Rage
5. Silvio
6. Masters of War
7. Boots of Spanish Leather
8. Tangled Up In Blue
9. The Times They Are A Changin’
10. Cold Irons Bound
11. I Shall Be Released
12. Highway 61 Revisited
13. Love Sick
14. To Be Alone With You
15. Don’t Think Twice It’s All Right
16. Not Fade Away


Concert # 1067 of The Never-Ending Tour. Concert # 21 of the 1999 US Winter Tour. 1999 concert # 21.

Concert # 214 with the 11th Never-Ending Tour Band: Bob Dylan (vocal & guitar), Bucky Baxter (pedal steel guitar & electric slide guitar), Larry Campbell (guitar), Tony Garnier (bass), David Kemper (drums & percussion).

A few comments about this band: Bucky Baxter is one of those guys that's been around and played with everybody. Larry Campbell had a long tenure in Dylan's band, and later went on to play with Levon Helm (The Band) and Phil Lesh (Grateful Dead), giving him ties to the three great American rock institutions of the 60's. Tony Garnier still is in Dylan's band, possibly Dylan's longest musical relationship. David Kemper also spent some time in the Jerry Garcia Band, likely where Dylan first became familiar with him. Baxter would be replaced by Charlie Sexton about a year later, and this core group would form Dylan's finest band at this stage of his career.

6–9, 15 acoustic with the band.
7 new songs (43%) compared to previous concert. 4 new songs for this tour. 

Why have one heater when you can have two?